Search for your favorite player or team

© The Hockey News. All rights reserved. Any and all material on this website cannot be used, reproduced, or distributed without prior written permission from Roustan Media Ltd. For more information, please see our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Yearbook 2022-23

Yearbook 2022-23

Our annual Yearbook is packed with previews, predictions and features for the upcoming NHL season. We have four pages of analysis on each team, plus our yearly Top 50 NHLers list and in-depth features on Jack Eichel, Mitch Marner, Steven Stamkos, Jusse Saros, Kyle Connor and many more.

NHL Team Previews


THN PREDICTION | 8TH IN ATLANTIC THINGS CAN ONLY get better for the Canadiens after finishing with the worst record in the NHL last season. They had a spark after Martin St-Louis took over as coach in February, and now they’ll have him for a full season. Carey Price remains the biggest question mark after he was limited to five games in 2021-22 following knee surgery and 30 days in the NHL/NHLPA player-assistance program. Price had a platelet-rich plasma (PRP) injection in his knee during the off-season and is doing everything he can to start the season in goal. GM Kent Hughes was able to trade the final four seasons of Shea Weber’s contract to Vegas, which is one less headache for him. Juraj Slafkovsky, the No. 1 overall pick in the…


2021-22 NHL STATS

STATS | NHL STATS | THE LEADERS AWARD WINNERS & ALL-STARS NHL AWARDS Hart Trophy (Most Valuable Player) Auston Matthews, Toronto Ted Lindsay Award (MVP voted by players) Auston Matthews, Toronto Art Ross Trophy (Top scorer) Connor McDavid, Edmonton Maurice Richard Trophy (Top goal-scorer) Auston Matthews, Toronto Calder Trophy (Rookie of the year) Moritz Seider, Detroit Norris Trophy (Outstanding defenseman) Cale Makar, Colorado Vezina Trophy (Outstanding goaltender) Igor Shesterkin, NY Rangers Lady Byng Trophy (Most sportsmanlike) Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Selke Trophy (Best defensive forward) Patrice Bergeron, Boston Jack Adams Award (Coach of the year) Darryl Sutter, Calgary Jennings Trophy (Lowest GAA) Frederik Andersen & Antti Raanta, Carolina Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP) Cale Makar, Colorado Masterton Trophy (Perseverance) Carey Price, Montreal King Clancy Trophy (Humanitarian) P.K. Subban, New Jersey FIRST-TEAM ALL-STARS C Auston Matthews, Toronto LW Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary RW Mitch Marner, Toronto D Cale Makar, Colorado D Roman Josi, Nashville G Igor Shesterkin, NY Rangers SECOND-TEAM ALL-STARS C Connor McDavid, Edmonton LW Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida RW Matthew Tkachuk, Calgary D Victor Hedman,…

Juuse Saros


IF YOU WERE inclined to drop 20 bucks on a membership to the Preds Pet Club last season, you would have received, among other things, an autographed 5-by-7 photo of Juuse Saros and his Siberian Husky, Kesa. It probably goes without saying that the photo was signed by Saros, not Kesa. But where they actually had us was at the Preds Light Up Poop Bag Holder. Where do we sign up for that? It turns out that aside from being one of the NHL’s best goalies, Saros is also an animal lover. So much so that he actually has a tattoo of Kesa on his right forearm. The money raised by the Preds Pet Club goes to help local animal shelters and foster organizations, something that is near and dear to…

NHL Team Previews


THN PREDICTION | 2ND IN METROPOLITAN AFTER A SURPRISING, gritty march to the Eastern Conference final, the Rangers couldn’t simply run it back for the 2022-23 season. Why not? Well, prior to last season, the Rangers had enough cap space to sign Mika Zibanejad to an eight-year extension to join Chris Kreider and Artemi Panarin with long-term deals. They nurtured some top prospects and landed Andrew Copp, Frank Vatrano and Tyler Motte at the trade deadline. Along with Vezina Trophy winner Igor Shesterkin, they lifted the Blueshirts into second place in the Metropolitan Division and helped fuel a deep playoff journey. Entering this summer, however, GM Chris Drury was in a much different position. Six core players – Zibanejad, Kreider, Panarin, Shesterkin, Adam Fox and Jacob Trouba – were locked in for…